fourscore and seven years ago….Gone to Gettysburg

I am SO behind in posting our adventures that I will likely be grouping a lot more together these days.

We left Flagstaff and took our journey east to Gettysburg, going deep into history and sad times in our country.

It’s been a long time since I learned about the great war that divided the north and the south, black and white, slave and free, and as much as I feel so ignorant regarding slavery and even the reality of this war, I caught myself in such disbelief as we read stories and learned, wondering how could people fight over whether or not they could own other people. It truly baffles me still.

In order to learn more about the war and those involved, we dove into  several books from the library and home.  These were our favorite:

The Children's Book of America

This is a book I bought when I taught and it has great short bits on different events in American History. The short story we read from this week included one on Lincoln’s childhood and what led him to the presidency.

The Gettysburg Address, Illustrated by Michael McCurdy

“The Gettysburg Address” with wonderful illustrations and a brief description of what made this speech significant.

Mr. Lincoln's Boys

This was one of my favorites with sweet stories of Lincoln and his two wild sons and how he loved them so!  It was a touching book about how a father cherishes his children in the middle of fear and devastation.

Tallinn and I spent much time reading this wonderful book! While we didn’t finish it as it ended up being a bit heavy and over his head, I hope to continue it again someday when he’s a bit older.

President Lincoln was by far my favorite president and being reminded of his character, hard work and determination, brought back lots of childhood memories.  What an amazing leader he was!

Gettysburg Spelling Words:

1. honest

2. civil

3. battle

4. war

5. fighting

6. slavery

7. address

8. unfair

9. African

Leave a comment