Welcome to Wales

Okay, so if you’ve been following our blog, you may have noticed that we already “slightly” covered Wales, or that my mom technically taught the kids about the UK during my actual trip to Uganda.

Well, initially when I planned our A-Z country list, Western Sahara was the only country listed for “W”.  As it turns out, the fact that Western Sahara is a country is a bit questionable and it can almost be considered part of Morocco.  Since we already had a fabulous week in Morocco and I had to miss the UK fun, AND, since Cardiff’s name did come from Wales, I thought we would just venture back and go a little deeper into this dragon-flagged nation.

Venturing west and north from Vietnam, we arrived in mountainous, sheep speckled, valley-filled Wales, with coasts bordering the west and England bordering the east.  I am super excited to be here!  In my real-life, non virtual travels, I have been many times to England, even visiting Scotland and Ireland as well, but never Wales. 

After our brief geography lesson, we went right into art, dragon art in fact, which might have been more fun for me than it was for the kids.  Doing a search for “dragon”,  I found a directed art lesson on one of my all-time favorite art teacher blogs

First we drew the dragons in pencil, beginning with the eye, mouth and nose.

Next, we drew the ears, body, leg, tail, arms and wing, adding spikes along the way.

My example.

Once the dragon was drawn, we traced over the pencil with permanent marker.

We had lots of help today which was super fun! Mémé helped Addie.

Our friend China, from Japan, helped Car.

Next, we colored in the dragons with oil pastels.

Cardiff's finished dragon

Addie's fire-breathing friend

Tallinn's Blue-Hot Monster

The flag of Wales is of a bright red dragon with a background of two horizontal lines, the top being white and the bottom green.   This art project was technically meant to look like the Welsh flag, but I let the kids choose their colors and have fun with it.  Also, in the Welsh flag, the dragon faces the other way….oops!

My finished “Welsh flag”

With dragons and castles and music and more….there are lots of fun possibilities this week in Wales!

In honor of Cardiff, we are learning his life verse this week:

The LORD is my rock, my fortress

and my deliverer;

my God is my rock, in whom I take

refuge,

my shield and the horn of my salvation.

2 Samuel 22:2

One response to “Welcome to Wales

  1. What fun to help design our own dragon even with my limited artistic talents. Loved being ther e as they each made one.

Leave a Reply

