A Messy Weaving Loom, a Middle Eastern Market & the 5 Senses

There are things in life, OFTEN in my life, that don’t necessarily go as planned or as dreamed or envisioned.  When doing some initial background research on Oman, weaving seemed to be an activity that the kids would enjoy and be able to do.  Key word: seemed.  So, imagine my self-satisfaction upon finding weaving looms for less than $3 online.  “One for each child”, I thought, and “I can help Cardiff with his as it says for children over 5”.  Wrong!  As an adult I had a hard time figuring this thing out.  

Fortunately, Tallinn actually really enjoyed getting started….and that’s where we will likely end, in the beginning, as I have with several other projects in life, but this time, I just don’t have the patience to carry on.  

So, here you have some pictures of our excited beginnings and I will likely never post the end result.  So glad I can hold on to “It’s all about the process”.   

  

  

  

To make up for this bit of a failed attempt at Omani weaving,  we headed to our local Middle Eastern Market.  I can’t express how thankful I am to live in an area where we have Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Hawaiian and Middle Eastern Grocery Stores, all within a few miles. It definitely makes this study much easier.  We only had a few things on our list: dates, rose water, dried mint, garlic and some treats, but we found a few extra things that were perfect.  

 (I only had my phone to take pictures so the quality isn’t great.)  

 

 
Apparently Tallinn decided to sport his “bad boy of Oman” pose

 

On this can of Ghee is a picture of the oryx, a goat-type animal from Oman that we have been learning about.  

  

Addie’s holding the rose water which I have searched for at our typical market without success.  I can’t wait to use it as I cook from Arabesque!  

When we got home we had several fun items for our meals this week, including: yogurt, rose water, orange blossom water, sumac (another item I had search for previously without success), dried mint, milk candy, an assortment of cookies, lemons, garlic, figs and dates. Oh, and a bit of the most delicious feta cheese ever, thanks to a sampling table. (That’s what I get for shopping while hungry.)  

  

Which now brings us to today,  a science lesson on the senses.  For how could we, in our learning about Oman, neglect one of it’s most precious substances: Frankincense?  Frankincense has been around for thousands of years and is mentioned several times in the Bible.  In fact, as I learned today, frankincense from Oman is of the highest quality in the world!  The oil we bought was from East Africa as it is a bit cheaper, but the smell is still enough for our purposes.  

  

  

For our science lesson, the kids got out their science notebooks and drew pictures of each sense as we discussed its function.  Here is how we incorporated each sense.  

Sight: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ed5hyCsnJM  

  

Smell: 

  

Touch: 

  

Taste: Yes, we even tasted a little!  

Hearing: hmm, does shaking the bottle count?  

We all really enjoyed this activity, myself included.  A far cry from our weaving loom frustrations yesterday.   

With each country we learn about I’m finding myself so appreciative of what they bring to society.  Oman is no exception.  It’s absolutely fascinating! 

2 responses to “A Messy Weaving Loom, a Middle Eastern Market & the 5 Senses

  1. What a great way to teach your children about the world. Thank you for opening their minds and senses to different cultures, including mine from Oman. I was googling articles on Omani weaving and came across your page. Good luck with your future projects and hopefully one day your and family can visit to see the real thing.

Leave a Reply

