Next stop…New Zealand

When I was thirteen years old, I had the most amazing opportunity to travel to New Zealand (and Australia) with my soccer team for about two weeks.  While in Christchurch, we stayed with host families for a few days and learned about how the people in New Zealand live.  I absolutely LOVED this experience, go figure, and even preferred NZ to Australia as we had really gotten to know the people there.  The Cottle family hosted me and their daughter Mahara and I remained penpals for years.  Sadly, we have lost touch, but I will always have such fond memories of my visit.  They truly welcomed me and made me feel so loved.

This morning we left our Moroccan tent and Berber gear and headed south again, back to winter, to the north and south islands that make up New Zealand.  We are now smack dab in the middle of extreme sports land but the kids won’t be bungee jumping quite yet (maybe in 15 years).  After traveling the globe and discussing what makes a land an “is-land” we place star stickers on Wellington, New Zealand’s capital, and Christchurch (for the Cottles). 

Next, we colored the flag and then made our own flags using sheets of foam.

Finished Foam Flag

This Week’s Verse

The sea is his

for he made it,

and his hands formed the dry land.

Psalm 95:5

2 responses to “Next stop…New Zealand

  1. Just came across your site doing some research for my class “Day in Israel”. I love it! Your ideas are fabulous and the site is so easy to read and explore. Thanks for sharing your expertise!

Leave a Reply

