Korea, Land of the Morning Calm

There is not a day that goes by that I don’t thank God for the beautiful Korean blessings he has given me and more often than not, I am reminded of how thankful I am to their birth country.  These two wonderful “Eastern” children brought into our “Western” home from the other side of the world.  I am so humbled to be given the opportunity to be their mother and today, as we venture from the West (Italy) to  East, I am overcome with gratitude and a happy/heavy heart-happy for my special gifts, heavy for their loss and for Korea’s loss, in a sense.

Twice now I have traveled to this land, welcomed as a foreigner with graciousness and warmth.  The first time we took Tallinn to meet his new sister.  He was 2 1/2 and still pretty blonde and everywhere we went Korean women would touch his hair and offer him candy.  We knew a few words in Korean but hadn’t quite mastered “He has diabetes and can’t have candy”, so instead we just smiled and said “Kamsa Hamnida” and placed it in our pockets.  We couldn’t get over how kind the people were and we honestly loved our visit to Seoul.  (Our hard drive has since been changed and I need a little help getting some pictures back from that visit…hopefully I’ll post them by the end of the week.)

Little did we know that we would be traveling to Korea again just over two years later.  This time, however I traveled alone with a dear friend in the bitter cold of winter.

Korean Marketplace

 

My dear friend, Debbie

 

Tour guides from a local college

View of Seoul from Seoul Tower

 

Meeting Cardiff

 

Homeward Bound

In both visits I have realized why they call Korea the Land of the Morning Calm.  For such a huge city (10 million+) Seoul is actually quite slow in waking up.  Thousands gather on the trains sleepy-eyed, dozing on to each other’s shoulders on the way to work while others quietly walk the streets.  It’s amazing how quiet it can be even at 8 or 9am and also amazing how appropriately named it is as.  Having traveled to many lands before I’ve never seen one so calm as the sun arises.
 
So we here are in this quiet-waking land, happy to be here as it holds for us a piece of home
 
2 responses to “Korea, Land of the Morning Calm

  1. What a special place! Love that it’s called Land of the Morning Calm. I could live there!

  2. NOT SO LONG AGO BOTH CAME INTO OUR FAMILY AND WE HAVE NEVER BEEN THE SAME. special kids from a special place.

Leave a Reply

