Bienvenue en France

Yesterday we left Israel and made our way west to France.  (This time we managed to stay in the same continent).  How I absolutely adore France!  Just over a decade ago I spent several months living in Paris.  I was just out of college and finding my way, pursuing my passion of cooking and speaking French.  Actually, I was fulfilling a dream and it really was quite amazing!  Of all the places I have traveled around the world, I think Paris is still my favorite.   There’s just something so special about it, perhaps for me because I got to really learn life in Paris, but more than that, I just love the beauty everywhere you look.  Walking along the Seine at dusk (my favorite time of day in Paris) gazing at beautifully constructed buildings of old, strolling past a corner cafe and a charming flower shop.  Paris is simply magical.

Not only do I love Paris, but I also love the French.  Someday I dream of going back and taking my family and spending a year or so.  Until then, we have brought France to our home.  In fact, we’ve been learning about France for years.  One of the rooms in our home is even called “The Paris Room”, decorated with art purchased in France.  For the first few years of Tallinn’s life I only spoke to him in French.  But, I got a little bit lazy as we added more children and am trying to teach them a bit here and there.  This week as we learn, I will be teaching them in French and as much as Tallinn begs me to speak in English, he continues to understand quite a bit.

Beginning with geography, we said “Shalom” to Israel on the globe and located France, noting the location of Paris.  I helped Addie color her “carte” with the colors of the flag and Tallinn did his own fun design, marking Paris with our shiny stars.

Addie's carte

Next we made mosaic “drapeaux”, using tissue paper squares of red and blue.

Tallinn's drapeau

Finalement, we played  “un petit jeu”, finding all the “drapeaux” that we have studied thus far.  At the bookstore the other day I found some fun stickers of flags of the world and used this as a fun opportunity for review.

 

Verset (en Francais):

Rendez graces a Jehovah, car il est bon.

Psaume 118:1

A demain!

 

Leave a Reply

