Arriving in Ethiopia

Once again we have shifted gears and have taken our travels to the Southern hemisphere, this time to Africa. This is our first stop in Africa and we have much to learn as this is one continent we are quite unfamiliar with thus far.

Appropriately, our first African stop brings us to one of the most ancient countries in the world, Ethiopia. I really wish I had a friend in Ethiopia like Anu to help guide us on our journey, but we are already quite connected with several Ethiopians through the wonderful world of adoption. My heart actually feels quite heavy today knowing the extreme need of the people in Ethiopia, the medical needs, the need just for food to sustain them, the need for orphans to find forever families. Last night I heard that 30,000 children will die (worldwide) each day from starvation or a preventable disease. This just isn’t okay! I am hoping this week my kids will learn much more than just Ethiopian culture, but gain a deeper understanding of how wealthy we truly are and how we are called to use what we’ve been given to help those in need.

In preparing for Ethiopia week, I found a great website with resources on the culture  http://www.amharickids.com/. One book looked fun for our study and I decided to add it to our library.

Today, after we journeyed to Ethiopia on the globe and identified it’s flag, we read this great introduction to Ethiopian culture. I had every intention of making a fun flag out of beans but didn’t quite make it to the store in time so we just plain colored them…and sometimes that’s okay. What I loved about it was that Tallinn quickly copied the flag and went searching for star stickers to place in the middle. He’s needing me less and less these days which can be a bit sad, but I love seeing him take the initative in learning!

I also love that Ethiopia is bringing us into a bit more of a Bible study this week. This morning I shared with the kids that America isn’t anywhere in the Bible, but Ethiopia is! They were a bit shocked and I love showing them the world is so much bigger than California and the US. We have so much to learn. We’re really barely making a dent, but I think we’re heading in the right direction.

This Week’s Verse:

So he (Philip) started out, and on his way he met an Ethiopian eunuch, an important official in charge of all the treasury of Candace, queen of the Ethiopians. This man had gone to Jerusalem to worship.

Acts 8:27

*I’m adding a section to my links on adoption as it is so close to home for our family. There will also be some from friends who have adopted from Ethiopia and reaped the great blessings of adoption.

One response to “Arriving in Ethiopia

  1. as Cadence says “GO ETHIOPIA!!” i put a few ethiopia books in my car to bring you today but didn’t make it by. my plan is to drop them off tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

